Singapore Flyer is disappointing

24 12 2008

Dangerous rescue

Sometimes disappointment could be a blessing in disguise. At least for me. I was planning to have a Christmas party at the Singapore Flyer yesterday, 23 December 2008 but dropped the idea after I couldn’t get the majority to agree with me. The planning started actually 2 weeks ago and I was actually disappointed when I couldn’t go since it will be my first visit to the World’s highest Ferris wheel.

Fortunately for me, the plan was dropped. An awful incident happened at the Singapore Flyer yesterday, the wheel stopped moving due to power supply cut off and visitors have to be evacuate SWAT’s style. I could be one of the stranded visitors if I insist to have my way. Anyway, this is not the first time the Ferris wheel is found faulty but each time the problems are different.

I would never step into one of those capsules again if I was up there when it happened. Luckly no one was injured.

The evacuation was kind of overdone. I don’t think anyone can withstand repelling from that height. They should close it until the management learns to manage crisis better.


Actions

Information

Leave a comment