How do you define a school?

9 01 2009

Congratulations! You have graduated with First Class Honours.

You have spent a few years in University striving for your first Degree.

You have spent a few years in technical school or college striving for your certificates.

You were “promised” or “sold” the idea of having a high qualification puts you ahead of the rest in the rat race. Paper chase is proven many throughout the history that paper holders do have an edge over the rest.

But I am puzzled over a course like Bachelor of Science in Entrepreneurship. I mean do you go to school, hoping to learn or trained to become an entrepreneur? Will you become a successful businessman after completing a course like that? It’s either you are born to become one or trained by someone in the family (like your dad) to run a business. Do Professors know how to run a business?

In my pure economics sense, schools are nothing but factories that churn future labours for the market. If you want a shortage in manpower, just remove the schools, you remove the labour which schools are supposed to provide for the job market. None are trained to be businessman, everyone who went through the system are trained to become employees. Why would you need 500 vacancies for an accounting course? You need to throw 500 of them out into the market to fill up the job vacancies.

 

 

So, this is one factory where raw materials (candidates) are procured for production (training) and tested (exams) by the QCs / QAs for quality control. Once you have qualified (passed), the QC gives a stamp of quality assurance (qualifications) and sends the stocks (graduates) into the market for sale (employment).

The QC says these are good stuffs we can market them now. Some were thrown into the supermarkets, the grocery stores, the mega stores and the premium stores. None of them have equal value, some were undersold or oversold.

The school is one huge factory for mass production to suit the demands from the market.

Having a degree could mean better than not having one but streetwise is more important for winning the race. But I would rather know 1 Bill Gates or 1 Buffett than to having a straight A degree. It’s better to sense where the money is than knowing where my work desk is. I too, was “sold” the idea in the past that having a good education is essential for getting ahead. I am still upgrading myself today because I really enjoy gaining new knowledge not because I will achieve more because of my education. I grew out of that lie already.

I am one of those “canned food” …can I be a Coke? At least I can be sold for $10 at a country club. Whichever way, my value isn’t determined by me rather by how much the market is willing to pay me.

Does the school train me to create my own value? In a way, I can create my value which will only be fulfilled if someone out there is willing to match the “price”, so in the end, my value is still not determined by myself.

Ask the millionaires, billionaires, businessmen and smart investors whether a good education will bring me to their levels.

Whatever the school taught me would have been close to their expiry dates when I am done with my training. Then the same knowledge will be reused to teach those who came after me. It’s also a recycle bin.





The rich man and his maid

9 01 2009

This will be a very short post about a funny random thought.

I walked past a private estate today, a short cut to my destination. Dogs were barking while I strolled past, I wasn’t too concern about the dogs as long as they don’t exploit any openings which allow them to dash out and pounce on me.

Then, I was next to this house, I saw a maid “ushering” her boss out of the house with his briefcase, shortly after that the boss drive off in his luxury sedan. A thought struck me. One of those rare occasions when I felt “enlightened” suddenly.

I was thinking….

That boss went off to work and most probably long hours to earn a good income to maintain his house. Is that the owner of a company or one of those senior managers? Whichever way, he slogs to pay for his private house.

That maid stays in the same house, slogs for 10 hours a day (maybe) but she doesn’t need to pay for the private house she is staying. She is paid to stay there.

Who is more fortunate? The boss who pays to live in a bungalow or the maid who doesn’t need to pay a single cent to stay there?

A frivolous post.